“Practicing the craft”: a mission statement

Hello blogosphere! I feel like I’m writing to no one right now, but hopefully that will change soon. The purpose of this blog is to keep me active in practicing the aspects of English that I am most passionate about. I received my Bachelor of Arts in English with a Literature Concentration a little under a month ago and am now two class days into pursuing my Master of Arts in Teaching with a Secondary Education Concentration. My degrees have long names, but it boils down to me trying to become a middle or high school English teacher.

Today in class, my professor challenged us to reflect on what we are most passionate about in the field of English and develop a plan for how we intend to practice our craft, or maintain activity in the field, now that we are no longer full-time students of English.

In this blog, I plan to share with the world how my love of English/Language Arts has manifested itself in my life now that I’m no longer a full-time English student. I plan to discuss an array of topics and want to keep things interesting.

To me, a deep-seeded love and understanding of English/Language Arts leads to two overarching principles: critical thinking and passion for communication. Of course, there are countless other aspects to the study and practice of English, but these two “big ideas” are what reign supreme to me as a lifelong student of English.

As for my strange title, it is a pun on electric eels, the sea creatures, and MGMT’s “Electric Feel.” On a deeper level, I hope that the things I write will be interesting enough to electrify my readers in some way, to either agree or disagree (hopefully via comment) or discover something new to love.

One response to ““Practicing the craft”: a mission statement

  1. Hi, Katy. This is Patsy that works at RCPS with your Mom. I am thrilled that she shared your blogspot with me. At this point, I have read only the initial post and I’m hooked. My interest is piqued and I can’t wait to see what inspiration you are going to have for us next. You really have a way with words.

Leave a Reply

