Facing the unexpected

My morning was going along pretty well, nothing too exciting. I managed to drag myself out of bed and to the gym, had a pretty good workout in spite of being intimidated by the beefy guys in the weight room (I went to a machine after one of them and had to move the weights down 100 lbs.), got back to my apartment, started the coffee maker, and got in the shower. So far so good, just a normal day. In the middle of my shower the fire alarm goes off. Now, I live in a large apartment complex, so this was bound to happen at some point. In fact, I’m surprised that it has never happened before in my four years of living in buildings with hundreds of other people. Needless to say, I was pretty irritated. I stood outside still slightly damp in wet clothing with my roommate waiting for the all-clear. An hour later I’m sitting here writing to you, fully dressed and ready for anything the world wants to throw at me today.

The half-time during my shower today made me think about facing the unexpected in a bigger sense. No matter how much we try to plan and control what will happen in our lives, ultimately we can’t. I will admit that I’m very much a control freak about how my life goes. I love to worry about where I’m going to live after I graduate, if and where I’ll get a job, who I’ll live with, how I’ll make friends, etc. Basically anything you can think of. But even my best laid plans have, in the past, fallen through. But they’ve fallen through to give me things better than I had planned for myself in the first place. This isn’t always the case though. My uncle is fighting cancer right now and things can be pretty discouraging for him and our family. No one plans for cancer, and regardless of whether it’s that or something else, we can never plan for what life will put in our way.

I wish I had some encouraging anecdote about how things always work out for the best, but sometimes they just don’t. I guess the nature of life is that we will never have total control, need to give up on the idea of total control, and just take things as they come and make the best of them.

2 responses to “Facing the unexpected

  1. You are not alone in your worries. You just have to keep going and play with the hand your given. It is the only way to survive.

  2. This blog really touched me for a variety of reasons. You are such a wise young woman and I am so very proud to be your mom! Love you!

Leave a Reply

