Love

Sorry for my brief hiatus. I was trying to get things wrapped up and turned in to finish up my summer classes (I’m officially 1/3 of the way done with grad school!), and then I was stumped about how to write this post. Ironically, this was the only post I had left in my “Eat, Pray, Love” series when my boyfriend and I ended our eleven-month relationship this weekend. I almost thought about just abandoning the series and not writing about love. I thought I had nothing positive to say, that I didn’t understand love after all, that it wasn’t even something I wanted to write about. I felt defeated and the self-imposed pressure to write this seemed like it would be too much. But in fact, I’ve learned a lot about love these past couple days.

For now, this is my working idea of love. I don’t claim to be wise or all-knowing. In fact, quite the contrary. I’m only 21 years old (I’ll be 22 in 22 days), and I’ve only ever been in one relationship that did not last. But this is what I’m working with right now.

Love is truly seeing the soul of a person and adoring that soul.

Love is wanting the absolute best for someone.

Love is unconditional.

Love is a verb. It’s the choice to look past your own selfishness and pour your compassion, understanding, and support into another.

Love is recognizing the flaws but appreciating that they are part of that soul you love.

I’m just beginning to learn to feel love for myself, to be bold enough and strong enough to pour all the goodness I have to give into myself instead of desperately seeking that assurance and support from others.

“Later that day I got to thinking about relationships. There are those that open you up to something new and exotic, those that are old and familiar, those that bring up lots of questions, those that bring you somewhere unexpected, those that bring you far from where you started, and those that bring you back. But the most exciting, challenging and significant relationship of all is the one you have with yourself. And if you can find someone to love the you you love, well, that’s just fabulous.” -Sex and the City

“Though I speak with the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I have become sounding brass or a clanging cymbal. And though I have the gift of prophecy, and understand all mysteries and all knowledge, and though I have all faith, so that I could remove mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. And though I bestow all my goods to feed the poor, and though I give my body to be burned,but have not love, it profits me nothing.

Love suffers long and is kind; love does not envy; love does not parade itself, is not puffed up; does not behave rudely, does not seek its own, is not provoked, thinks no evil; does not rejoice in iniquity, but rejoices in the truth; bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.

Love never fails. But whether there are prophecies, they will fail; whether there are tongues, they will cease; whether there is knowledge, it will vanish away. For we know in part and we prophesy in part. But when that which is perfect has come, then that which is in part will be done away.

When I was a child, I spoke as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child; but when I became a man, I put away childish things. For now we see in a mirror, dimly, but then face to face. Now I know in part, but then I shall know just as I also am known.

And now abide faith, hope, love, these three; but the greatest of these is love.” 1 Corinthians 13

3 responses to “Love

  1. You’ve learned so much in the past week and I’m so very proud of you! Even though you are hurt, you are so much wiser for your relationship. The path life is taking you is a wondeful one and I look forward to your future! Love always, mom

  2. I’m so sorry for the end of your relationship, and I wish you much healing, wisdom, and eventual happiness. And needless to say, I understand a lot of what you’re going through right now and I commend you for writing this. It’s that much MORE powerful. Much love to you, my kindred spirit friend.

  3. Thank you both for your support!

Leave a Reply

