It’s my birthday!

(My third grade Language Arts teacher, Mrs. Denman would run around and sing this song whenever it was anyone’s birthday!)

Today is my 22nd birthday! I feel like it’s my first adult birthday. I know technically your 21st birthday is, but I had too much fun last year last year to have considered it an “adult” birthday.

Today’s Birthday Agenda

-I went to my student teaching placement this morning and it was a lot of fun! The students in my first and second period classes (tenth grade English) talked about their opinions regarding various issues surrounding the Terri Schiavo case by moving to different signs posted around the room ranging from “Strongly Agree” to “Strongly Disagree.” The activity was designed to help prepare them to write a position paper, and it was really interesting to hear their views on family, marriage, and decision-making. My fourth period class is discussing Tim O’Brien’s The Things They Carried, which they read over the summer. Today they all brought in a small bag of things they would carry with them to war, and everyone shared their items with the class. It was a really fun day to be a student teacher!

-For lunch I went to Chick Fil A with three girls from my cohort and got a delicious chicken salad sandwich, fries, and sweet tea. And the manager gave me a free brownie since it was my birthday!

-I had class from 1:30-3, and we learned about research analysis… not so exciting, but necessary.

-Right now I’m doing some lesson planning to prepare to teach next week (my partner and I are co-teaching first and second period Monday-Thursday next week! Ahh!) and listening to the Wilco station on Pandora radio.

-Tonight’s plans include eating Mexican food, margaritas, Jersey Shore, and girls’ night in with two of my best friends.

What a wonderful birthday!

Readers, what’s your favorite way to celebrate your birthday? Do you like to go all out or keep it low-key?

2 responses to “It’s my birthday!

  1. Happy Belated Birthday..

Leave a Reply

