“I’M TELLIN’ YOU THE VISOR’S COMIN’ OFF!”

College football does in fact begin today, but I’m not all that into it.

Some people find that really shocking, and that’s because I live in the South, where college football is practically a religion.

Yesterday I was at a jewelry store with my Mom buying new Pandora charms for her birthday tomorrow (Happy Birthday, Mom!), and the saleswoman asked me if I’m a Georgia fan (University of Georgia). I told her no, that I don’t dislike Georgia, I’m just not all that into sports.

She looked at me like I told her that I had killed her cat.

It’s not like I think there’s anything wrong with college football. I know it’s fun. I know tailgating is fun. I know that fans are really passionate and love their teams. It’s just that I didn’t go to a football school. I just have never gotten behind a team.

I’ve been neglecting making posts this week. School has been pretty hectic, and when I have free time I just haven’t felt like writing. Now that it’s FOOTBALL SATURDAY, here’s my week in review:

I co-taught first and second periods every day this week, and it was amazing. It went well, the students responded well to me, and I really loved it. I can’t wait to spend my career teaching high school English.

This week I’ve really realized that God’s plans and timing are perfect. I’m a planner, and when things don’t go the way I’ve planned or expected I have a hard time taking it in stride. But I’m starting to learn that when things don’t go my way, it’s because God has a better way.

I’m obsessed with this song right now:

I’m trying to waste less of my free time and spend more of it listening to music, spending quality time with people, crocheting, watching movies, reading, studying the Bible, journaling/writing, praying, and I’m going to work on learning to meditate (being silent and still is hard for me… all the more reason I should pursue meditation).

All of this month I’ve been getting up at 6 AM Monday through Thursday in order to get to school by 7:30, and starting the week after next I’ll have to start getting up at 5:30 because the school I’ll be teaching at is 45 minutes away.  I’ve had a hard time adjusting to going to bed earlier in order to make waking up earlier easier, but I’m finally starting to get tired earlier and make the adjustment. Being an early riser (along with going to bed at a reasonable hour) feels so much more productive and wholesome than the sleep schedule I’ve had for the past four years.

Leave a Reply

