Sweet solitude

I used to hate ever being alone. “Used to” sounds like something from the distant past, but to be honest I’m talking about a mere month ago. I absolutely hated spending any amount of time by myself, and whenever I had to I would get really down. I tried desperately to never be alone. I couldn’t see the wonderful possibilities spending time alone could have.

This weekend I have some time to myself, and perhaps for the first time in my life, it’s absolutely wonderful and I’m really enjoying myself. Last night I watched Glee Season 1, Disc 1 and got a lot of work done on an afghan I’m crocheting for my mom. Today I plan to do schoolwork, watch a movie or two, and read more of Bill Bryson’s A Walk in the Woods. Last night and this morning I’ve had a chance to reflect on my life, journal, read Scripture and devotionals (recommendation, if you’ve never checked out Oswald Chambers’ My Utmost for His Highest, it’s available online at Utmost.org). I’ve learned things about myself and my relationship with God that just can’t be grasped in the busyness of daily life.

This week I’ve been incredibly blessed with time spent with new friends I’m going closer to. They are wonderful women and the time I’ve spent with them this week has made me so happy. I have a feeling of community and belonging that I haven’t felt here in my college town in many months. It’s been such a blessing to me. I’m happy to balance a great week of connecting with other people to a weekend re-connecting with myself.

If you’re alone this weekend, I’d like to challenge you to embrace the time rather than running from it or wasting it wishing you weren’t alone. If you need ideas, the video I embedded at the beginning of this post is simple, beautiful, and inspirational.

One response to “Sweet solitude

  1. YEAH!!!! What a wonderful blog…you have arrived!

Leave a Reply

