Time to breathe

After I take a final today at four, I am done with this semester. The long break is much-needed–I graduated in May and had three weeks off before starting grad school.

My to-do list for break looks like this–
-Send resumes and letters of interest for jobs next year to another group of schools I’m interested in working at
-Shadow a handful of teachers in my hometown
-Clean room at parents’ house
-Read
-Run
-Crochet
-Write
-Watch movies

I have never been happier with a to-do list in my life.

I’ve been really into Edith Piaf lately, and here is her most famous song. The title, “Non, Je ne Regrette Rien” translates to “No, I regret nothing.” I love it!

I’ve wrapped up my reading of a couple of books over the past couple days.

I must be honest, I’m not crazy about Stuart Dybek’s I Sailed with Magellan. It’s written in the spirit of James Joyce’s Dubliners, a collection of stories about Chicago residents. While Dybek’s vision is impressive, it just does not add up for me. A handful of the stories were really great, but others were a little exhausting to read. However, this is just my opinion. Many people love this book, and it was actually loaned to me by a friend who is herself a talented writer with good taste in books. So perhaps you should give it a chance, but I was not impressed.

I also am not the biggest fan of Shane Claiborne’s The Irresistible Revolution. This book is a collection of stories and essays about Claiborne’s radical practice of Christianity. The writing is good and the stories interesting and inspirational. Perhaps what rubbed me the wrong way is that I am also a Christian, but my practice is incredibly different from what Claiborne suggests. I recommend this book to anyone who is interested in religion and social change.

I hope to be writing here at Electric Spiel a lot more than usual while I’m on break and look forward to reading your comments.

2 responses to “Time to breathe

  1. Dear Electric Spiel,

    I am right there with you! This break is one of the most highly anticipated of my life. Though I have to work and finish up some things, it’ll be nice to have a break for the first time since last Christmas break. Kind of like you I went from graduating in May –> working at camp –> grad school –> today. 🙂 I know that you’ll be mucho productive and I, too, share many of the items on your to-do list: blog, knit [possibly crochet], and read. Take care of yourself!

Leave a Reply

