“Isn’t there anyone who knows what Christmas is all about?”

I am far from being a crusader for keeping Christ in Christmas. It’s not that I’m not a Christian, it’s because I have so many friends who are near and dear to my heart who aren’t Christians and celebrate Christmas for different reasons. None of them are evil Grinches who are trying to rain on my parade. Rather, they are beautiful, kind individuals of different faiths (or non-faiths) who celebrate family, generosity, and a spirit of fun at Christmastime. I respect that because I love them and the Christmas they celebrate is very much like the Christmas I celebrate as a Christian.

As a Christian, though, my Christmas does have a major component that is very important to me. It is the birthday of Jesus Christ, someone I look to as God incarnate, a Savior, a teacher, and a role model.

Even though I’m not the evangelical crusader brand of Christian, it is so important that I remember the main reason that I celebrate Christmas, the birth of Christ, rather than getting distracted by the hustle and bustle of the holiday season.

Charlie Brown Christmas came on TV a couple nights ago, and if there’s anything that captures more perfectly how I feel about Christmas, I don’t know what it is!

2 responses to ““Isn’t there anyone who knows what Christmas is all about?”

  1. Ummm I am questioning following your blog because it doesn’t have anything to do with a marsupial…. butttt I guess that’s okay 😉

Leave a Reply

